Hawassa University

About Hawassa University

Hawassa University (HU) was established at Hawassa in April 2000.Since 1976 the different colleges of HU had been operational starting with the college of Agriculture. The University has been formed by merging three colleges in Southern Ethiopia: Awassa College of Agriculture (ACA), Wondogenet College of Forestry and Dilla College of Teacher Education and Health Sciences. The historical background of the three colleges is briefly described below.

Awassa College of Agriculture (ACA) was established in July 1976 to offer a 2-year Diploma course with specialization in Plant Science, Animal Science, Agricultural Engineering and Home Economics with the objective of training middle level technicians that would serve as agriculture development and home agents all over the country. In the 1990-91 academic years the college launched a four-year Program in Plant Production and Dry Land Farming, Animal Production and Range Land Management and a five-year program in Agricultural Engineering and Mechanization. Moreover, the teaching staff of the college has actively been engaged in conducting research and offering consultancy services to various organizations.

Wondo Genet College of Forestry (WGCF) was established as Forestry Resources Institute in January 1978 to train forest technicians in a two-year Diploma program. In 1996/7 academic year, the college was upgraded to a four-year degree program following the transfer of the Forestry Faculty from Alamaya University to WGCF. Through sustained effort and support provided by the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA), the college has been successful in establishing training programs as well as building essential infrastructure, teaching facilities, staff and over all institutional capacity.

Dilla College of Teacher Education and Health Sciences was established in 1996 with two faculties: Faculty of Teacher Education and Faculty of Health Sciences. The objective of the college was to train secondary school teachers and mid-level health professionals. The college was afterwards separated from Hawassa University and now stands as a university by its own; however, the Health faculty has been moved to Hawassa.

The university has since upgraded its capabilities, adding new colleges, institutes and departments, programs and research facilities. Currently, HU is actively engaged in expansion activities to increase its intake capacity. As part of this, the University has got 61 hectares of land from Administration of Yirgalem Town, and has started construction of buildings to expand the existing programs and to launch new ones.

Today, HU is a comprehensive university engaged in the provision of all-round education, research, training, & community service through its diversified areas of academic units.

Schools/Colleges at Hawassa University
  • Hawassa College of Agriculture
  • College of Law and Governance
  • College of Social Sciences and Humanities
  • College of Natural and Computational Sciences 
  • College of Business and Economics
  • College of Medicine and Health Science
  • Wondo Genet College of Forestry and Natural Resources'
  • Institute of Technology
Hawassa, SNNPR, Ethiopia +251 462 205311 http://www.hu.edu.et/hu/ Public University

Search Institutions